…I will write about something other than Dollhouse.

Here’s a little list of some upcoming items:

  1. A list of my favorite webcomics, and why.
  2. Some RPG material.
  3. Some more RPG material.
  4. Some creative writing projects I have been working on.
  5. Poetry criticism
  6. Dollhouse!

Among other things, I have begun work on a steampunk/gaslight short story that I hope to turn into a script for a graphic novel, or maybe even Creative Anomalies, if I get skilled/quick enough with the drawing.  I intend to publish it in installments here, and with a link to a PDF stored on Dropbox.  In addition, I plan to write some system-free RPG material that can be used with any system and by anyone (Creative Commons, of course).  Examples include my campaign world, Thelenia, and random items, characters, and locations to drop into any adventure.

While you wait breathlessly for all of the delicious content I have offered above, take a moment and read the beginnings of Enterprise:

Smoke rose from the shattered remains of the coffee shop.  Only hours before it had been the bustling center of business in London.  The pre-dawn light began to creep over the horizon, reminding the few onlookers awake at that hour that the work day was fast approaching.  Few who passed could take their eyes from the giant, smokey gear floating above the remains of the shop.  A watchman stood outside, next to the broken shards of the great bay window that allowed the businessmen of the Exchange to look upon the tools of the commerce they planned and traded.  Every so often someone stopped to inquire about the “accident” and she moved them along with a nod or shake of her head.

Inside, two watchmen stood over remains of a strange device that lay twisted and blackened on the floor.  It was clearly some sort of infernal engine, but the techs had yet to arrive.

“Hell of a device,” one said.

“Hell isn’t strong enough for it,” replied the other.

The first watchman removed her helmet, shaking out her short, brown hair.  The badge on her black jacket labeled her a Detective.

“A harvester will be here soon,” she said, the tone in her voice indicating she was not the least bit pleased about it, whatever it was.

The other watchman paled slightly.  “They creep me out, the way they’re so cheerful.  I mean, we need them, Lord knows, but…”  He trailed off.

The woman nodded.  “Your men have done well establishing a cordon.  It will be that much easier for me to collect evidence.”  She fingered her badge.  “Have you given any thought to applying for Detective yourself?  I think you’ve got the mindset.”

“I’m not sure I’ve got the knack,” he replied.  “I can tinker a bit, and I can work some basic charms, but I just have difficulty making it all work for me.”

“How are your divinations?”

“Mixed, just as with my tinkering.  I often get hunches that turn out to be true, but you can imagine how unfounded ‘feelings’ go over at Whitehall.”

This time, she grinned.  “You just might find yourself a home in the Detectives, then.  We’re all about following your nose.  And your ears,” she added a bit sourly as a cheerful whistle came trilling through the dawn air.

The watchman minding the storefront started slightly as a man in a pristine white laboratory coat approached him suddenly from the crowd, whistling a cheerful ditty.  His feet almost began to shuffle of their own accord.

“What can I do for you, sir?” he asked peevishly.

The man in white simply grinned back at him, hands clasped behind his back.  “My good man, I am a Harvester.  I have come to…clean up the premises.”

Again the watchman started, this time assuming an official posture.  He cleared his throat impressively and not-so-subtly adjusted the hem of his jacket.

“Yes sir, right away!” he replied.  “This way, please.”  He held up the police cordon and beckoned the Harvester through.  The Harvester cheerfully nodded his thanks and casually strolled onto the crime scene.  Glass crunched beneath his boots, the destruction reflected in the shine of his glasses.

I remind you all that my work is licensed under a Creative Commons license and is free to reuse and redistribute with attribution for non-commercial purposes.

