A new item recently came to my attention – Halo 3: ODST.  I’ve been a fan of the Halo series so far, and naturally I was intrigued.  The first thing I heard about it, other than the title, was that Nathan Fillion was involved.  In case you weren’t already aware, Nathan Fillion, Adam Baldwin, and Alan Tudyk all contributed to the voice acting for Halo 3.  The gave life, however short, to the grunts that the Spartans (that means you, players!) mostly ignored.  In this latest installment Nathan Fillion and  Adam Baldwin play ODSTs – Orbital Drop Shock Troopers.

Halo 3: ODST

Halo 3: ODST

If you’re not familiar with the ODSTs, I recommend checking out the first Halo novel.  While not great literature, it is nonetheless an interesting piece of background info on the Halo universe.  The ODSTs are, in short, the meanest soldiers in the UNSC.  The Spartans may have the shiniest toys and the best bioengineering, but the ODSTs have one hell of a fighting spirit.  They are dropped into combat zones from orbital troop carriers, as the name implies.  You can’t make it into the ODSTs without prior combat experience, and they are the best soldiers you can get without asking for Spartans.

The Desperate Measures trailer is quite a piece of work.  Messrs Fillion and Baldwin do excellent work, and it makes me positively drool over the game.  I’ve always loved the Halo universe, and this installment appears to be no exception.  The quality of graphics and sound is top-notch, and the depth of the game superb.  I cannot wait to get my hands on it.

I seem to have made a habit of starting Savage Worlds conversions of material I like, and so it is with ODST.  I’ve begun my conversion, armed with Studio 2 Publishing‘s Science Gear Fiction Toolkit (check out their stuff, it’s great!) and a few trailers, game footage, and art.  I’m starting by focusing on the weapons mentioned in the trailer, as well as the ODST armor and tech.  Just because I love the Pelicans so much, I’ll stat them out next.  Then it’s on to Edges, Hindrances, and Skills.  I’m also using a previous Halo conversion I found at Savagepedia, and I intend for mine to be (mostly) compatible with it.  I differ a bit from whoever wrote the first one in terms of how some of the mechanics will play out.  Nonetheless, they should be mostly usable together.  If this ends up being comprehensive I’ll modify the rules to include Spartans, but I’m not planning to at the present time.  Shoot me an email if you would like to be involved or want a copy.

Update 8/3/2009: Alan Tudyk is also definitely in it.  After watching Desperate Measures 10+ times I realized that Mikey is voiced by the immeasurable Mr. Tudyk.

