Yesterday was the big Philadelphia trip.  Several friends and I attended the College Day on the Parkway, complete with free admission to the Philadelphia Museum of Art.  I haven’t been in years, so it was great to get a chance to return and take in the culture.

My day started, though, with a trip to NJ to visit Fazzio’s, an industrial surplus yard.  The set for Outrage is constructed entirely of ladders and scaffolding, so we needed to pick up some of both.  Three of us and the Engineering Suburban (roughly 1980) drove out there in the early morning (slightly less early than planned, since my alarm never went off) and did some shopping.  More than $700 later, we have half a dozen ladders and a few sets of scaffolding.

Fazzio’s was truly impressive.  If I was going to film a post-apocalyptic film I would start there.  It’s full of gorgeous, wonderful rusting metal and machinery of all kinds, and has pretty much everything necessary to build a full-size M1 Abrams tank.  I kid you not.

My favorite work at the Museum

My favorite work at the Museum

After returning from the surplus yard o’ metally goodness, I hit the train into the city.  We walked over to the museum and then browsed for about three and a half hours.  It was incredible.  Two of us saw only the European Art (1850-1900) and the section on Modern and Contemporary Art, but it was well worth it.  I had never really been a fan of the Impressionists, but a few hours with Monet certainly changed my mind.  If I were an art collector I’d be after Monet.  Lots and lots of Monet.

The Museum also had some very neat modern/contemporary pieces.  I certainly didn’t understand some of it, but the differences between what you “get” and what you don’t get are some of the most interesting aspects of art.  I was sorry there were no water colors on display, but studying the texture of the oil paints on various backings (canvas, cardboard, plank) made for quite an interesting afternoon.  My favorite painting would have to be Monet’s painting of the cliff at Etretat, though I cannot remember the specific title.  If you have the chance, I strongly recommend visiting the Philadelphia Museum of Art.  It is a wonderful collection well worth the time and cost of admission (though it’s free on Sundays).

Next up, the Barnes Foundation!  I visited there once in middle school, but should very much like to return before it is moved to the city proper.

