I’ve been thinking more about my plans for a megadungeon, and have decided that it is finally time to being posting those thoughts.  I’m going to be following Jonathon Roberts’ battlemap and dungeon design tutorial over at NewbieDM.com, which I highly recommend to all aspiring content creators.  So, here they are…

My intial plan for the megadungeon centered around a giant rock spire thrusting into the sky.  I’d still like to do that, but with more of an emphasis on smaller sub-dungeons in the surrounding area.  The spire was converted at some point into a stronghold, the first few floors of which are occupied by a tribe of savage (but organized) creatures.

I’ve really been wanting to use kobolds (don’t ask me why), so how about making the first few levels above and below ground in the spire into a kobold warren?  They’ll be somewhat comic and subservient to a higher power, so I’ll stick in a big central chamber in which there will be ancient carvings and a story of someone foretold by the prophecies of a mad dragon sage.  The comic bit comes in whenever a new party enters the dungeon – the kobolds think they are the ones foretold and go crazy for a little while, until a troublemaker pops up and they turn on the party.

Nearby will be a graveyard full of mausoleums, all connected underground into a delightful maze of cadavers and necromancers.  Perhaps the graveyard was built as an addition to the castle-spire (which needs a name – how about Starblade Spire?) and while the original owners are long gone their mortal remains are very much present.  Necromancers seem drawn to the place, so they keep popping in and reanimating a handful of corpses before falling prey to one of the traps set by their predecessors or to a rival, which only serves to refresh the supply of bodies.  I do like the idea of having some undead lord of the place, but following the theme of the kobolds I’ll make it a zombie that’s become sentient after having been commanded by so many necromancers.  In fact, his/her lordship was a dread necromancer back in the day, so it’s not that much of a change.  He/she/it keeps trying to organize the undead into a village but for whatever reason they just keep eating the tourists…

That’s it for now, but I’ll be back later this week with more thoughts from Starblade Spire.

