A few months back I discovered destination unknown, an RPG blog by Christian Walker.  I was particularly intrigued by Christian’s games-for-prisoners program.  In short, he gets game material (mainstream and indie games alike) to prisoners through prison mail.  Being a supporter of prison reform and generally in favor of helping prisoners maintain some semblance of normalcy (and I could go on and on about the reasons why), I sent Christian the second draft of City of Rain, City of Darkness and the first draft of my Savage Worlds Halo: ODST conversion so that he could give them to some prisoners.

In response, Christian not only replied thoughtfully but also mailed me a copy of Iridia, a zine he produces.  He also enrolled me in the LMS D&D Club and sent me the first two issues of the LMS D&D Club newsletter.  A week later, I also received my membership card and the DM Certification test.  I haven’t yet had a chance to take the test and then mail it off, but I’m looking forward to doing so.  The membership card, on the other hand, is definitely in my wallet, ready to display my allegiance at a moment’s notice (especially if the Madison Middle School Club shows up).

And, in Issue #6, some of my writing will be featured.  I’ll be posting my contribution here once the newsletter has gone out, but I highly recommend joining the club.  The idea with zines is that you are supposed to share something of your own, so send something over and get a copy of your own.  I’m going to be sending a copy of Unicorn Star, a copy of Psi Phi‘s literary magazine, to keep the sharing going.

This is one of those posts that really has no purpose other than to congratulate Christian for doing a fantastic job and thank him for all his great work.  Getting the newsletter/zine is one of the highlights of my week, and I can’t wait to read what’s next.  If you haven’t already checked out destination unknown, do it now!  Go!

