When you need to have a meeting, have a meeting. When you need to collaborate, collaborate. The rest of the time, do the work, wherever you like.

The gain in speed, productivity and happiness is massive. What’s missing is #7… someplace to go. Once someone figures that part out, the office is dead.

Seth Godin hits the nail on the head with this one. The office is a space that we use because we’ve built up momentum. It’s inconceivable not to have a work office (as opposed to home office) unless you are self-employed (in which case your work office usually is your home office).
More and more people work from home, but it’s not quite the same as having “someplace to go.” I prefer to go to my office, rather than work from home, because it gives me physical boundaries between work and play. I’m not sure what will replace the office, but I hope it looks like this .

