Do you know what a thesis is?  Perhaps you’ve written one, or maybe you hope to.  If you are in the former category then you know what I’m talking about.  If you are in the latter, save yourselves now!  Don’t read, run!

Now that we’ve got the disclaimer out of the way, let me just say this: I am writing a thesis.  I am enjoying it immensely.  I am preparing an experiment on book interventions as a minimal, universal intervention for college students.  What does that mean?  Well, I don’t really want to give away too much (in case you’re a potential subject), but in short it means that people read books and I measure how certain aspects of happiness and satisfaction with life change.  I have a hypothesis, but I’ll save that for another day.

So, this is sort of a traditional “Not dead, just busy” post, but it’s also a bit of me talking about how much I love psychology.  It has so much potential to make the world a better place, and I feel quite privileged to be a part of it.  The field has come a long way since Sigmund Freud, thank goodness, but there’s still a lot of work to be done.  The majority of those in need do not receive the help they could make the most use of.  The jury is still out on who, exactly, we should be treating.  But every day, someone makes a little step farther and it gets better.  You might even say it’s getting so much better all the time.

That’s why I love my thesis.  I love the late nights and grueling writing sprints.  I love somewhat less the way it interferes with my first-ever NaNoWriMo, but it’s for science.

